Part One : Work Space

September 11, 2009

I recently decided that I wanted to re-decorate my room.  My mom wasn’t too happy when she found out about my plans because we had just painted it about three years before.  However, at the time when we painted it I knew nothing about color theory and had no idea that chartreuse wasn’t a good choice for a living space.  I’ve always been a fan of color, but after living in four walls of avocado green with a bedspread to match, I felt my days with bright colors were numbered.  I needed something peaceful, a place to relax and get things accomplished.  A place to breathe amidst life’s pandemonium.

I also wanted a space that reflected who I am now.  Many people know that between the years of fourteen to nineteen (give or take a few years), you change drastically.  Your taste, style, musical preferences, friends, views . . . (pretty much you name it and it can be included in this list) are constantly evolving.  Yes, I thought chartreuse was an excellent choice for a room color at the time.  And for a period of time, it was.

But things have changed.  & just like the premise of my blog, there is always room for change and change is good.  Within the next week or so, I will be posting little tidbits about what my new room looks like.  This first part is about my work space.

I wanted my desk to be a place where I could get things accomplished.  In the past, my desk has been a landing zone for all kinds things.  But I have realized that the key to diminishing clutter is finding a home for everything.

Let me introduce you to my furniture : My desk was used, but originally from Ikea, as well as my chair and the two frames.  The lamp and paper tray on my desk were both from Target.

Side Note : Beautiful fresh flowers from Grandma’s garden!

Just try and imagine what those green walls looked like before . . . Isn’t this refreshing?  I purchased all my paints from Kelly Moore in San Leandro.  I highly recommend them.  The staff is very helpful and knowledgable about the products.

Another new addition to my room is the bare wood floors.  My house was originally built in the 1800’s and I just love the character these floors possess.  They used to be covered by a jute rug from Ikea, but I am loving the new look.

My favorite thing about my work space now are the two Rex Ray prints that hang above my desk.  Rex Ray is one of my favorite pop artists, runner up to Andy, of course.  I had written in a previous post about how I wanted to incorporate bright pops of color into the room and these prints were the perfect fit.

These lamps are the best!  I purchased one from Target for Katy’s room in a brushed silver and was so impressed that I bought another in black chrome for myself.  They range from $40-50, but are totally worth the bucks.  Both Katy’s and my room are fairly dim, but these lamps illuminate very well and their versatility (you can move the individual shades) makes it well worth the price.

I know this photograph is similar to the other shot, but it includes one essential element that every work space should have in some form or another – a bulletin board!  I post my work schedule up here, receipts, notes & reminders . . it is so helpful in keeping my head on straight, rather than having a plethora of post-it notes scattered about my room (I speak from experience!).

I hope you enjoyed seeing this little part of me.  It took a lot of work, but I am pleased with how it turned out and I look forward to sharing more and more with you in the coming days.  Your thoughts are always welcome!

Leave a Reply

